Antonios G. Mikos

Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Rice University

Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Rice University. He is the Director of the National Institutes of Health Center for Engineering Complex Tissues, the Director of the Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering, and the Director of the J.W. Cox Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering at Rice UniversityProf. Mikos is recognized for his research on the synthesis, processing, and evaluation of new biomaterials for use as scaffolds for tissue engineering, as carriers for controlled drug delivery, as non-viral vectors for gene therapy, and as platforms for modeling disease. His work has led to the development of novel orthopaedic, dental, cardiovascular, neurologic, and ophthalmologic biomaterials.He is the author of over 580 publications and 29 patents. He is the editor of 15 books and the author of one textbook (Biomaterials: The Intersection of Biology and Materials Science, Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008). Mikos is among the top one percent most cited researchers in his field. He has been cited over 68,000 times and has an h-index of 137.


Lifetime Achievement Award of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society-Americas
Founders Award and the Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature of the Society For Biomaterials
Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecturer Award
Shu Chien Achievement Award
Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal,
Excellence in Surface Science Award of the Surfaces in Biomaterials Foundation,
Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research
James E. Bailey Award in Biological Engineering of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers,
Meriam/Wiley Distinguished Author Award of the American Society for Engineering Education,
Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Engineering of the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas,
Marshall R. Urist Award for Excellence in Tissue Regeneration Research of the Orthopaedic Research Society,
Distinguished Scientist Award – Isaac Schour Memorial Award of the International Association for Dental Research,
Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award of Purdue University.